Unbeaten Uganda, Zimbabwe chase first slot to final

The two unbeaten sides; Uganda and Zimbabwe, at the on-going International Cricket Council (ICC) Africa Women’s Twenty20 World Cup Qualifier clash in crucial encounter at the Wanderers Affies Oval today in Windhoek, Namibia.

Victory for either sides will not guarantee either of the sides a ticket to the global qualifying showpiece where the winner of the Africa Qualifying Event will meet other ICC regions winners including; Europe/Americas (Scotland & Netherlands), East Asia Pacific (Papua New Guinea) and two ICC Full Members (Bangladesh & Ireland).

But it will be one step closer to the coveted global qualifier scheduled for later this year or in early 2018 because the winner of today’s game will earn direct ticket to the Saturday’s all-important final.

The loser today will have a chance to still reach the final but fatigue and injury could halt their progress as they have to play an extra game – against the winner of the Namibia – Kenya encounter which will be the day’s curtain raiser.

“It is going to be a very tough game,” Lady Cricket Cranes coach Grace Mutyagaba, said after his team’s nets session yesterday. 
“But we know what to do. We must take it easy and embrace the game’s basics. I believe whoever shows willingness to exhibit them and hunger will carry the day.”
It will be a battle between Uganda’s clinical bowling and Zimbabwe’s power hitters.

The Ugandan sextet of Joyce Mary Apio, Rita Musamali, Stephanie Nampiina, Franklyn Najjumba, Consy Aweko and Gertrude Candiru run into the quartet of Zimbabwe’s polished batters; Ashley Ndiraya, Modester Mupachikwa, Chipo Mugeri and Precious Marange.

Uganda and Zimbabwe have six points apiece and none of them can slip to third whereas Kenya and Namibia are stuck on two and whoever finishes third will play the loser between the top two teams on the log. 
The loser will play Tanzania in the fourth-place playoff on Friday morning. Five teams are in the fray at this African showpiece.


Press Release for the National Women's Team to Zimbabwe

                                                                                                       21st April 2016






Uganda Cricket Association is pleased to announce the National Women’s Team set to travel to Harare- Zimbabwe, for the Senior Women’s event scheduled from 23rd to 27th April 2016.


Below please find the team that will represent Uganda at the ICC Africa T20 world Cup Qualifiers.


Players: Barbara Mukankusi (Captain), Mary Nalule (Kampala), Racheal Ntono (St James S.S), Franklyn Najjumba (Kampala), Rita Musamali (Jinja S.S), Mackenzie Ayato (Kampala), Prico Nakitende (Kampala), Immaculate Nakisuyi (Masaka S.S), Stephanie Nampiina (Jinja S.S), Nakato Joselyn (Kyambogo University), Kevin Awino (Jinja SS), Daphine Mukasa (M.U.B.S) and Carol Namugenyi (Kampala).


Reserves; Joyce Mary Apio (Olila HS), Patricia Munguryek (Kololo SS)


Officials: Jonathan Ssebanja (Coach), Grace Mutyagaba (Asst. Coach) Lucy Nakiboneka (Manager) and Jeremy Kibuka Musoke (Head of Delegation).


The teams at the tournament are Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania and Zimbabwe. Only the best team from the tournament will qualify for the Global World Cup Qualifier which dates and venue will be communicated at a later date.


The team departs from Uganda on 22nd April 2016 on-board KQ airline and returns on 28th April 2016.  The reserves are replacements to members on the final 14 and therefore will not travel with the team.


We believe the team has had good preparations leading to the tournament with the most recent being a residential camp at Lugogo NCS Hostels.


We continue to thank the media for the good coverage given to the game of cricket and hopefully it continues throughout the year.


Attached are the fixtures for the ICC Africa T20 World Cup Qualifiers.


Not signed as sent electronically


Justine Ligyalingi


Chief Executive Officer

Takashinga XI tour to Uganda

Takashinga XI tour to Uganda

It’s a count down as we climax to the Takashinga XI tour to Uganda. The team will play five (5) 50 over games against select sides both at Lugogo & Kyambogo oval.  Takashinga XI is well equipped with the best Zimbabwean players of which five players are currently on the National team. The series will be comprised of all round Zimbabwean cricket players namely;


Takashinga XI

1.     Tinashe   Panyangarara

2.    Tafadzwa   Kamungozi

3.    Timycen   Maruma

4.    Regis  Chakabva

5.    Prosper   Utsey

6.    Chamunorwa Chibhabha

7.    Stuart Matsikenyeri

8.    Tinotenda Mutombodzi

9.    Raza Butt

10.Odecious   Manje

11.  Shingirai  Masakadza

12.Taurai   Muzarabani

13.Kudzai   Maunze

14.Emmanuel   Dube


15.Steven Mangongo

16.Givemore  Makoni


Match Schedule


Tuesday 16th December - Takashinga XI Vs Emerging  - Lugogo Oval


Wednesday 17th December - UCA Chairman's XI Vs Takashinga XI  - Kyambogo Oval


Thursday 18th December - UCA Chairmans XI Vs Takashinga XI - Kyambogo Oval


Friday 19th December - Rest Day


Saturday 20th December - Emerging XI Vs Takashinga XI - Lugogo Oval 


Sunday 21st December - Takashinga XI Vs UCA Chairman's XI


Come one come all as we support our select sides to victory!!!!!!!!!

Subscribe to this RSS feed
Best gambling websites website