Squad of 33 Ladies summoned for Global World Cup qualifiers

Uganda Cricket Association has announced a list of 33 ladies to start preparation for the Global Qualifiers scheduled for the European summer of 2018.

Uganda qualified for the Global Qualifiers after they defeated Zimbabwe in the final for the African Region qualifiers in Namibia in August this year.

The list of 33 includes all the 14 ladies who were part of the winning team in Namibia with UK based Naomi Kayondo also included in the 33 ladies line up. UAE based Justine Musubika who features for Pioneer locally is also among those that have been summoned.

The team will be handled by head coach Francis Otieno, who will be assisted by Grace Mutyagaba and Habib Mugalula.

They will commence the non residential training on December 1 at Lugogo, when most of the school girls will be done with school.

Uganda will be battling 5 other regional winners with 2 test playing countries in Ireland and Bangladesh joining associate countries Uganda (Africa), Scotland (Europe), PNG (Oceania) and Hosts Netherlands (Europe

see below the squad;


Tikolo pleased with avalanche of match winners in Cricket Cranes squad

There were a few murmurs arising from coach Steve Tikolo’s final 14-man side that will represent hosts Uganda at the ICC World Cricket League Division Three tournament from May 23-31.
Tikolo admitted the difficulty in sieving out the required numbers from a pool of 20. Of course, he had worked with nearly 40 players over the past eight months in a bid to find the perfect blend ahead of the nation’s first international engagement in 20 months.

The recent 4-0 whitewash over Kenya in the Easter Series left not only fans but also Tikolo a rather more pleased figure. “Our cricket has grown in leaps and bounds in the last eight months,” he noted.

The Kenyan legend stated the team’s greatest positive from the Series has been in strengthening the depth of the squad. “We played as a unit. It was not a one-man show,” Tikolo said while highlighting the variety of match winners against the eastern neighbours.

“Whichever player is asked to go out and do the job for the team, they put their hands. Previously, we used to depend on one or two players (Roger Mukasa and Arthur Kyobe) in the batting department. Right now, we have about six or seven players we can depend on.”

Tikolo is vindicated by the figures as Kamal Shahzad has grown to maintain a slot in the top order as backed up by his 107 runs off 114 balls in 4 innings against Kenya.

“Before we used to depend on Davis (Karashani), Frank (Nsubuga) and Charles Waiswa in the bowling department but that has changed too. There is good competition in the team so it ensures the guys will not sit on their laurels and think they have automatic slots.” Tikolo added.

Left-arm orthodox spinner Henry Ssenyondo (7/79 & 2 maidens in 23 overs) and right-arm medium pacer Jonathan Ssebanja (5/83 & 19.3 overs) got bigger dividends than the trio in four matches against Kenya.

The final selection

Team Uganda
Davis Karashani (captain), Brian Masaba (vice-captain), Arthur Kyobe, Hamu Kayondo, Roger Mukasa, Arnold Otwani, Kamal Shahzad, Frank Nsubuga, Henry Ssenyondo, Charles Waiswa, Deus Muhumuza, Jonathan Ssebanja, Irfan Sahibzada and Lawrence Ssematimba
Naeem Bardai, Lloyd Paternott, Emmanuel Isaneez and David Wabwire

Best bastmen

East cricket series statistics
Roger Mukasa (111 off 140 in 4 innings)
Kamal Shahzad (107 off 114 in 4)
Arthur Kyobe (84 off 96 in 4)
Hamu Kayondo (74 off 129 in 4)
Emmanuel Isaneez (56 off 88 in 2)
Deus Muhumuza (53 off 64 in 2)
Derrick Bakunzi (49 off 69 in 1)

Best bowlers

East cricket series statistics
Henry Ssenyondo 
(7/79 & 2 maidens in 23 overs)
Jonathan Ssebanja 
(5/83 & 19.3 overs)
Davis Karashani 
(4/95 & 3 maidens in 29 overs)
Deus Muhumuza 
(3/27) in 7.4 overs)
David Wabwire 
(3/70 in 10 overs)
Roger Mukasa 
(2/3 & 2 maidens in 4 overs) 
Frank Nsubuga 
(2/39 & 3 maidens in 14 overs)



The Kenya National Cricket team is set to travel to Uganda on Saturday evening in preparation for the ICC T20 World Cup Qualifiers slated for later this month. The team will take on their Ugandan counterparts in three 50-over matches and two T20s between 8th and 12th June.

Head Coach Steve Tikolo says that the weather in Nairobi has rendered training almost impossible and inadequate at best.

“The weather in Uganda is better than we have here hence the boys can bat,bowl and field and get on with the preparation process. Also,Uganda is a competitive side so we’re optimistic that we’ll get much done to our advantage within the coming week.”Despite the fact that these are merely preparation matches,the fans and players alike will be keen to see who comes out on top between the two bitter archrivals.

The national team travels to Ireland and Scotland on 19th June to battle it out with thirteen other countries for six of the available spots in the 2016 T20 World Cup in India.

Travelling Squad to Uganda

1. Rakep Patel
2. Shem Ngoche
3. Maurice Ouma
4. Collins Obuya
5. Elijah Otieno
6. Nehemiah Odhiambo
7. Nelson Odhiambo
8. Narendra Patel
9. Lucas Oluoch
10. James Ngoche
11. Emmanuel Bundi
12. Eugene Ochieng’
13. Gurdeep Ghatora
14. Karan Kaul

Technical Bench

Steve Tikolo – Head Coach
Martin Suji – Assistant Coach
Joseph Asichi – Trainer


MONDAY 8th June – 50 overs – @ Kyambogo Oval
TUESDAY 9th June – 50 overs @ Kyambogo Oval


- 50 overs @ Kyambogo Oval
FRIDAY – Two T20s @ Lugogo Oval


Men's National Team Squad for WCL Div 2- Namibia

The Men’s National Team squad that will represent Uganda at the Pepsi ICC WCL Div. 2 Tournament in Namibia (15th - 25th January 2015)




1.    Frank Nsubuga (captain),

2.   Brian Masaba,

3.   Davis Karashani,

4.    Hamu Kayondo,

5.   Arthur Kyobe,

6.    Deusdedit Muhumuza,

7.   Roger Mukasa,

8.   Phillemon Mukobe,

9.   Abram Mutyagaba,

10.                Patrick Ochan,

11.                  Danniel Ruyange,

12.                Jonathan Sebanja,

13.                Laurence Sematimba,

14.                Henry Ssenyondo



1.    Tania Le Roux  -  Team Physio

2.   Michael Ndiko – Team Trainer

3.   Peter Kirsten – Technical Director


4.   Andrew Meya – Team Manager

Subscribe to this RSS feed
Best gambling websites website