Mukasa blade catches fire in rout of relegated Wanderers

Mukasa (C)’s willow finally caught fire as he bludgeoned a hapless Wanderers attack for 143. PHOTO BY EDDIE CHICCO Mukasa (C)’s willow finally caught fire as he bludgeoned a hapless Wanderers attack for 143. PHOTO BY EDDIE CHICCO

If the National Men’s Division One Cricket 50-Over League was a wine bottle, then Tornado Bee have already dusted the cork. 
After weeks of lying in Challengers’ shadow, now the men in green and orange are nearing their four successive title. A commanding 275-run win over bottom side Wanderers at the lakeside Oval in Entebbe ensured Tornado Bee maintained grip on top spot on Sunday. The result, 10th win in 12 matches moved them to 61 points, now two clear of Challengers who defeated KICC by 16 runs at Lugogo. Roger Mukasa reminded everyone that class is permanent with a swashbuckling 143 runs off 72 balls.

For a player, who has had a relatively below-par season with the bat compared to 2015, Mukasa, in for Akbar Baig (53 off 88) at 161-2 after 32 overs, made his 50 off 34 balls before breaking loose. “I had to be patient,” Mukasa said about his strategy in the mammoth innings that helped him go top of the batting log with 386 runs thus far. “I knew the runs would come. I had to keep calm. I am happy with the result.”
He shared a 198-run stand for the fifth wicket with Deus Muhumuza (27 off 31). By time Simon Kato (1/71) bowled out Mukasa on the penultimate ball of the innings, he had accumulated five boundaries and 11 sixes.

Tornado Bee had set 329-4, one of the highest batting totals ever in Entebbe. Two-time winners Wanderers barely chased the target. Sheer intimidation from Davis Karashani (5/15) and Mukasa (4/5) bundled them to 54 all-out in 16.1 overs.
In Lugogo, chinaman bowler Henry Ssenyondo’s (6/37) blew away KICC as Challengers defended their compromising score of 147 all out. KICC, the pace setters in the first round, were miserably all out for 131.


Challengers 147/10 KICC 131/10 
(Challengers won by 16 runs)
Nile 128/10 Tornado 98/10
(Nile won by 30 runs) 

Tornado Bee 329/3 Wanderers 54/10
(Tornado Bee won by 275 runs)

Aziz Damani 289/10 SKLPS 50/10 
(Aziz Damani won by 239 runs)
Charity TF 171/10 Mwiri 140/10
(Charity TF won by 31 runs)
KC Budo 230/7 Avengers 109/10
(KC Budo won by 121 runs).

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Best gambling websites website